Wednesday, October 28, 2020

The numbers game

 I was reading the news this morning when something caught my eye:

 Yes, that was from today.

It kind of boggles the mind though. Why would an advanced European country such as Belgium have such an overwhelming spike? I looked at the UK for comparison by searching "covid tracker" on Google":

Ganun din talaga eh. I didn't bother looking at the US data because I know that place is a disaster zone.

Than we have little old Philippines:

Admittedly, our coronavirus response was lackluster at best, but how come we are now seeing sustained decrease of the numbers despite the easing of lockdown measures started a few months ago? 

I would like to be optimistic and think that the Filipinos are more compliant to the pleadings of the health authorities to observe mask and face-shield wearing compared to the freedom-loving, put-a-meaning-into-anything West, and that is why the numbers are finally going down in a sustainable fashion. It wasn't pretty, and it still isn't in the provinces, where I hear the numbers are on the rise after a long time of quiescence.

I know it is a cliche to talk about Filipino resilience in times of crisis, but looking back people have tried to be compliant naman din kasi. Word was able to get out effectively that these are the steps that have to be done, and people have followed, sometimes grudgingly, but compliant nontheless. To bring up a stark comparison, you only need to look back at those news reports of foreign expats violently reacting when they are accosted by the authorities for having activities outside without a mask.

I'm sorry to say this, but if you want to prevent another spike in cases from happening here in the Philippines, we may have to ban travelers from these western hotspots especially those with people who are notorious for flouting the rules because they love their freedom too much (at the expense of good common sense). As much as I havea disdain for the TDK, I think it would be the lesser of two evils.

 


Friday, October 23, 2020

Ouch

 Eliminate Knee Pain When Squatting 

Image credit: https://www.peakft.com/eliminate-knee-pain-when-squatting/

I had a sudden attack of unilateral knee pain last night which prevented me from sleeping and persisted this morning. I certainly hope it's nothing serious, as it has already proved quite a hindrance when I was driving to work today..

Overuse arthritis? Could be?..

Gout? Wag naman sana..


Oh well.. I hope the coxibs I bought kick in soon..

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Lecturer

In the midst of starting work on yet another lecture as part of the requirements for clinical fellowship, I was struck with a sudden burst of inspiration and felt compelled to type my way into the contents of this entry. I kept it short because I really do have work to do, but I want to put this up here to save it for posterity. Who knows, this might actually end up helping someone out as well. :P

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

HOW TO MAKE A MEDICAL LECTURE by BrainiaxMD:

If you wish to lecture about something, you have to have this mindset that you would like your audience to actually understand and learn from what you are saying. This attitude will help you structure your lecture as you create it. Since we are talking about medical lectures here, this would follow a specific format:


1) Takeoff case

2) Define the disease and any associated terms, including a bit of epidemiologic data if available

3) Explain the mechanism causing the said disease

4) Now that you know what it is, how do you diagnose it? 

    a. Clinical features (history and PE if applicable)

    b. Diagnostics 

5) Next you have to answer the question of “How are you gonna treat it?”

    a. Treatment options, starting from the more simple interventions

6) Summarize!

7) Thank you slide :P

 

That's all folks!

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Why can't we all just get along? (an amateur commentary on religious dialogue)

 I read a legitimate news article recently about Israel having ties with two Arab nations. My first thought was "Well, that's nice. Why can't everyone do that?". Then I began ruminating on that last thought.. "Yeah why CAN'T everyone do just that?", thus triggering this post.

In this day and age of global connectivity and open communication, I find it hard to fathom sometimes why people of different religions find it extremely difficult to coexist peacefully. It is definitely a hell of a lot easier to get a conversation going, but people just don;t seem to want to do that..

All this talk about "infidels" and "slaying the unbelievers" makes me throw up my hands and say: "Really? You really can't move past that?? Damn, you guys are such infants!"

I am not against good organized religion in any way. I like my faith. It keeps me grounded, and I feel that it holds me accountable for my actions. A belief in a higher power is supposed to keep human behavior in check for the most part. Following a set of rules for morality is meant to keep people from being assholes all the time towards their fellow human beings. The concept of doing good to others for a future gain for all of eternity may still seem a little selfish in itself, but is necessary given the way human nature works.

The problem arises when people rely too much on their sacred texts and are childishly unable to see the evolving context as the world modernizes and moves on from certain outdated points that are no longer relevant. I will not go into specifics in the interest of peace, since I have no desire to engage any religious keyboard zealots out there over a useless debate wherein they will just show how backward they think. I will say this though, all those statements in various religions about making war on unbelievers are there for a reason that was valid AT THE TIME. For the writers of those texts who lied centuries to millennia ago, war was an inevitable necessity for survival, since the ancient world was a far less friendlier and less evolved place. To attempt to forcibly shoehorn all these violent notions into the current situation we live today simply just won't cut it, nor does it really make good sense for that matter. Societies have evolved (for the most part), and blind violent religious fervor no longer has a place at the table.

I wish these various religions would concentrate on the good tenets of their faith, preaching about love for others, cooperation, and taking care of your neighbor, concepts that are very badly needed in the world we live in today.  They could also do away with those irrelevant passages about killing others in the name of the particular deity because dude, that kinda goes against your other teachings anyway, so what the hell?

Sadly, human nature does not allow for such evolved thinking on a massive scale. Selfishness and greed will always be part of the norm, and people will always take advantage of the gullibility of others by waving the banner of organized religion to facilitate more sinister purposes..

Why is it so hard for ALL religious leaders to come together, shake hands, and make a united show of force, telling their flocks to "Just get along with each other for the good of everyone"? Isn't it much easier to say "put down your weapons and pick up your tools, we are gonna make the would better for everyone!", than to always say "death to the unbelievers/infidels/what have you?"

Some may say it is a matter of pride for these religions. That reaching out would show weakness or some other nonsense like that. It is just so frustrating that people are still on that line of thinking. Get off your high horse and stop being such children! Do your part in making the world more united! There are much bigger problems we presently face as a race that we no longer have time for relatively petty squabbles over whose prophet was right a thousand years ago.

Yes, I may be oversimplifying things, but I do have a right to dream for a better day.

Sunday, September 6, 2020

What can we do?

 I have been thinking a lot about how ordinary citizens can help each other out during this pandemic..

Being a healthcare worker, I fully advocate for continued distancing and the wearing of face coverings to help stem the tide of the disease, and though I still feel a need for lockdown measures, I am not naive to the fact that people are hungry and hurting, and that the economy really does need to be up and running if we are to avoid further catastrophe or devolution into anarchy.

Almost everyone has been tightening their belts throughout this crisis, and rightfully so, because it only makes sense to avoid unnecessary expenses during these times. The lockdown measures have forced a vast majority of establishments to close for months. As a result though, many business are shuttered for good, due to lack of income but continued costs (rent, utilities, consumables, etc). It saddens me to see many people being laid off, and beloved stores closing down..

Going back to the title of this post? What CAN we do? It is only logical that to get the economy going again, people don't just have to be selling stuff again, but people need to be buying stuff as well..

Those people who are fortunate enough to have a salary during this crisis may need to keep on spending (but not beyond your means obviously) in order to help the others stay afloat.

For example: Buy food from restos, who in turn would be able to pay their employees, as well as purchase from suppliers. These suppliers would then get income and be able to pay their employees as well. We need to pump life back into the economy so that everyone would be able to have spending power again.. I know that this is really easier said than done, but hey, you gotta start someplace, right?

People who apply for (undeserved) discounts should really stop doing that. I get those senior citizens who need the discount since they have retired and do not earn money anymore, or those ACTUAL PWDs whose impairments are impediments to getting a normal livelihood. But how about those FAKE PWDs who are perfectly healthy and functional who just paid off some guy at the city hall so that they can get their mocha frappes at a discount while hanging out at Starbucks? Or those millionaires with senior IDs (some of which are still not of age anyway) who VEHEMENTLY demand they get their discounts even though they really don't need it, and just want to get away with anything they could (typical greedy behavior wanting to take advantage of anything and everything)?

I am not telling the real seniors or PWDs to just give up their discounts, but for those who can afford it (myself included, as I have a physical impairment from childhood has resulted in some degree of permanent limitation to my locomotion), why don't we just scale back a little, until such time that everything is up and running again. A lot of people don't realize that the discount given to you is shouldered by the establishment you are purchasing from. I seriously doubt if the government fully compensates all of the 20% discounts that all these stores encounter. The cost needs to be shouldered by someone, and more often than not, it falls on the seller. 

In summary, I know that money is a little tight right now, but for those who are blessed to be still earning a living at present, help others out. I'm talking about propping up businesses by your purchases. There is a longer-lasting and more practical effect in keeping someone employed as opposed to just giving a one-time handout. Oh and if you can, avoid scrimping on essential services like haircuts. Tip a little more generously if you can afford it, especially since they have been out of work for a while. These people could use the money too. An example that comes to mind is going for the shampoo service after the haircut even though it seems a little pricey and not really necessary, as this gives the shop additional much-needed income.

I guess that's it. Be a little more generous, and don't be an asshole to others. We will all get through this together.

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

Spark

Feeling a bit inspired today, hence the workstarter post.

I can't really put my finger on it.. Maybe it is because of the unexpected one-day work break? Or the satisfaction I got after accomplishing some "atypical errands" that I would not be able to pull off on a regular day without taking time off from work? I dunno..

Or maybe it's that rare shot of caffeine I got a while ago from the milk tea we ordered for merienda. :P Oh damn, I'm gonna have reflux later, aren't I?.. 0_0

To be honest, things have been pretty dull as of late. Everyone seems to have settled into the daily grind with a grudging acceptance that Covid conditions at the hospital are not going to change anytime soon, and people are just trying to make the most of things and attempting to get on with their lives and daily duties.. It is just saddening when I think of all the training programs that were forced to adapt or outright be put on hold because of the pandemic. All of a sudden we are not training specialists enymore, but teaching a new generation how to manage a disease that the entire world is just learning to deal with.. Academic growth (apart from Covid knowledge) seems to have slowed to a crawl. In the Sleep Medicine program I presently find myself in, I find that I am sorely lagging behind  in terms of census requirements.. An extension is all but inevitable, but I hope that the additional months will still have a salary to go with it..

So much uncertainty about the future.. It can get really depressing at times...

I have been thinking about the future lately, and how my plans have taken a different shape with all that has been happening.. It is disheartening to think that we are now really living in the End-times, with all these disasters happening all across the globe, with no signs of letting up.. Seeing this forced us to reevaluate what we will be doing in the next few years.. Seeing how the guys are struggling with putting their kids to school under the current conditions makes us think twice about bringing another life into the world.. Its a sad reality, but I guess we just have to accept it... Oh, this post seems to have taken a more somber tone compared to when I started..

Despite that, I still named this post "Spark" since this is the most positive I have felt in the past couple of weeks.. Could it be a sign that things may finally get a bit better? Only time will tell, but for now, I gotta study and do some paperwork. Got a report in exactly a week, and I haven't really done jack squat. :P

Oh, I guess my current musical obsessions may have something to do with it, but that's a story for another post. ;)

Sunday, August 9, 2020

Pessimist

 I should be doing something far more important, nut a number of things weigh heavily on my mind.

2020 has been such a bad year... I don't even know where to begin.. So much tragedy abounds, and it shows no signs of relenting..

Can it be the end times already? Maybe.. I don't know anymore..

Such a shame that humanity will not be able to move on and be better.

I have kinda given up hope on humanity to be honest.. To say it in the vernacular, "hanggang diyan na lang talaga ang mga tao, hindi mo na maaasahang bumuti pa". To expect something greater from people is folly. I feel that people collectively will not be able to rise above all the selishness and stupidity that is so prevalent in the world today.

The ideals that they portray in Star Trek, about humanity coming together and working for the common good which allowed them to reach for the stars is simply not possible in this present situation. I feel that humanity has devolved so much that a critical mass of people being altruistic enough to put aside their differences to make the world a better place is simply not possible anymore.

The bad thing about social media is that it is universal, and gives a voice to those who do not deserve it. It provides a readily-accessible platform to those who seek to do harm. It allows ignorant people to pass on their stupid ideas to the world, and make themselves noticed not by their intelligence, but simply by being the loudest voice in the room. And the worst part of that? Other people would actually support these ideas. So yeah, I don't think humanity will be able to rise up from the muck, mainly because people are content to wallow in the mud.

I figured if you want people to be nicer to each other, you have to have solid values training, which comes with education (both in schools and at home). If you can't raise your brat to be a decent human being who is capable of caring about others, then you have no business making children, as you are just contributing to the cumulative jackassery of the human race.

 Sorry to be so pessimistic, but I now think we are fated to wipe everyone off the face of the planet instead of coexisting peacefully. For as long as you have ignorant people (universal education is not a government priority in most banana republics, as poverty and ignorance can be used by despots to stay in power, just look at us) and selfish people who are unable to move beyond thinking about themselves, the countdown will continue for humanity's finite time on this Earth.